How and why I started my Tech journey

How and why I started my Tech journey

Introduction

I'll be sharing how and why I started my Tech journey in this article. This is actually my first time writing an article so please feel free to send me feedback and tips on how I can improve ๐Ÿ™.

Background

As someone who wanted to be a medical doctor if I had been told that I'll get involved in Tech I would not have believed it. I always wanted to be a doctor as a matter of fact I was the best student in biology and chemistry while in secondary school. I got the shock of my life when I got my admission letter. Guess who was offered admission to study Computer Science? Yes, you are right. Me! ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™€๏ธ. How does applying to study Medicine sync with being offered computer science? But That's probably a story for another day, lol.

The most I could do with a computer prior to my admission was type in my name and play Zuma, and oh, I was a pro in the game ๐Ÿ˜Ž.

I accepted the admission but with the intent to switch to med school after my first year. The first year wasn't a difficult one for me, so I decided I should go ahead with the program instead. I made the decision to continue not because I wanted a career in Tech but solely because I felt it was quite an easy program for me.

Due to the method of teaching which was majorly theories, it was difficult for me to develop any interests. There was nothing to spur my interest in Tech in the classroom all through my 4 years of studying for the degree.

I started developing interest after having several conversations with a friend who was a developer and after sharing some of his projects with me, I was really surprised and excited as to what could be done with codes, I thought to myself 'I should give this a try'. Now, this was during the time of my Industrial Training. So I registered for a web development course at an IT firm where I learned HTML and CSS. I was so excited about all the things I could do. Not only I also took some online classes and started researching more about technology.

Technology is something I am passionate about now. My mindset and also how I see it has changed a lot. I now see it as an opportunity to build things, solve problems and provide solutions. The idea of building things and solving problems through coding is what really kick-started my Tech journey.

Why I started my Tech journey Some of the reasons why I started my Tech journey:

To build products: Just like I said earlier, I now have the opportunity to build products that provide solutions and helps make life easy.

For the money: From my research the tech industry is a very lucrative industry ๐Ÿ˜Ž and I want to be rich ๐Ÿ˜Š.

Challenges

It has not been an easy journey with issues like data and power supply but I am determined to move forward.

Some days I feel empowered and ready to take the world but sometimes I feel so overwhelmed by how vast it is and how little I know.

Conclusion

I recently switched to design and I also joined SheCodeAfrica. I'm excited about the journey ahead of me. I'll be documenting my journey and sharing my progress here.

ย